Two Months in Korea

Two months ago today I was sitting in an airport in Madison, WI anxiously waiting to board a plane to fly across the world to a country that I would eventually call my home, a country that I would eventually fall in love with. Living in a new country for only two months has already brought me so many amazing experiences that I could have never gotten anywhere else. I have fallen in love with this beautiful country, my school, my crazy, adorable kids, and look forward to what the next 10 months will bring.

Things I Love About Korea:

  • There is never a dull moment.
  • There are 4 seasons just like Wisconsin, and my favorite one is finally starting…Hello Fall!
  • Korean bbq

Image

  • The Indian restaurant, Namaskar (I know it’s not Korean, but I love love love it)
  • My job-I love my adorable kids, my awesome co-teachers, and my new school
  • The gorgeous mountains

Image

  • The random workout machines and hula hoops that are everywhere
  • The overwhelming generosity that some Koreans have shown to me
  • The fact that everyone is always holding hands (friends, moms and daughters, boys, girls…..everyone)
  • SHOES! Korea has not helped my shoe addiction in any way.
  • When random strangers say “Hello” to you because they know your foreign or just to speak English to you.
  • Korean pears-so delicious! Image

There are so many more things that I love about this country, but what I love most of all is that I feel like this is exactly where I am supposed to be right now. I have almost been waiting to have a moment where I  wonder whether or not this was the right place to go to or the right thing to do, but it has never come. Not a day goes by here that I question my decision to move here. This experience has already opened my eyes to so many different things, a whole new culture and way of life, new people, new friends, a new part of the world that I now know a little more about.

Image

In no way does any of this mean that I do not miss so many things from home. It is extremely hard to know that I have already missed two huge moments in some of my best friends’ lives. October 5th, one of my beautiful friends Abby got married and just yesterday, one of my best friends of over 13 years had a little baby girl. If I could, I would have just pushed a big pause button to make everything stop, but I know life in Wisconsin is not going to stop just because I left. Missing those big moments in my friends and family’s lives is a big sacrifice of being over here, but I know more will come, and I will get to celebrate with everyone when I get back home one day.

Things I Miss About Wisconsin:

  • Being able to get a salad without there being weird things on it like fruit cocktail and corn.
  • My car-the buses here have been a great way to get around, but I actually really miss driving
  • My cat…yes I really miss that pukey fur ballImage
  • My friends..I’m not going to name any names, but they all know who they are and how much I miss each of them every day!
  • My family
  • My church, First Free (Luckily, God goes with you wherever you go 🙂
  • Being able to communicate with everyone. One of the biggest challenges here is the language barrier. I’ve turned into a really good actor/mime though!
  • Trying on clothes-most stores here don’t let you try anything on…BIG problem.
  • Panera!
  • Cheap fruit (fruit can be kind of expensive here)
  • Anything from the Food Co-op
  • licorice
  • Normal pizza (most the pizza is very weird here…like stuffed crust usually means stuffed with sweet potatoes)
  • Mom’s apple crisp
  • Ground turkey
  • BOCA burgers
  • HUMMUS (I’ve at least found where to order hummus, http://www.hummusinkorea.com and it’s pretty good but not the same as hummus from home)
  • Baking (I sill haven’t gotten an oven yet, but I’m getting a small one, so I’ll at least be able to bake some things)
  • Football Sunday’s..Sunday’s in Wisconsin are my absolute favorite-football, family, and food, there’s nothing better

Image

Typical Sunday with some of the family 🙂

Most of all, I miss seeing my friends and family whenever I want. Luckily, I have been able to Skype and talk on the phone to stay connected, but it’s definitely not the same as being able to give them a big hug. So two months in and ten more to go. I know there will be ups and downs ahead, but I know that each new experience has a purpose and will take each one with an open mind and an open heart. I thank God every day for leading me to this country and for opening my eyes to something so new and different and know that it’s changing me in so many ways…for the better 🙂 If any of you are ever thinking about doing something different, maybe even a little crazy, I encourage you to follow your heart and take a leap of faith and never look back!

 Image

(From my favorite children’s book, Oh the Places You’ll Go)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Terri
    Oct 23, 2013 @ 17:50:46

    Hi Lisa eveything looks to be soo much fun for you. I am glad that you are enjoying your new home alot. I miss you, but know that you will be back with us again in WI. Thanks for all the great stories about your adventure. I am very proud of what you are doing. Love Aunt Terri.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Gaedo (Gae Island) | Life's a Journee...LIVE IT!

Leave a Reply

Musings of a Starving Writer

"There is nothing to writing. All you do is sit down at a typewriter and open a vein."

Life's a Journee...LIVE IT!

musings from a wanderlust

Taking a Big Leap of Faith...

This is only the beginning of my story

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

